Assigning ranks of access to various users

Owners and managers of listings
There are 3 types of users for listings: owners, managers, and site managers. When owners add users, they share management of a listing with multiple people without having to share their password. (Google Groups cannot be added as managers or owners of listings.)

Each listing can have multiple owners, but only one primary owner. Owners and primary owners have the same capabilities, but a primary owner can’t remove themselves from a listing until they transfer their primary ownership to another user.

Managers have all of the capabilities of an owner, except for particularly sensitive capabilities such as removing the listing or managing access to it.

Add a site manager to your business listing to help manage your business presence on Google. A site manager interacts with customers, publishes posts and photos, and responds to reviews on behalf of your listing.

A site manager sign-up link can be found in the Business Profile of claimed chain locations on Maps and Search. New users who sign up for Google My Business, as well as existing users who try to access claimed chain listings, can verify as a site manager. The sign-up link makes it easier for franchise owners and store managers to manage listings for locations they own or operate.

Site managers will be verified by Google to make sure their profile data is accurate. Owners can still manage user access through their Google My Business accounts.

When signed in to Google My Business, a site manager can request to upgrade to listing manager or owner of a verified listing. The listing owner can approve or deny the request.

Learn more about owners and managers of a location group (previously known as a business account).
To see a summary of the different capabilities of each type of user, view the chart below:

Capability Owner Manager Site manager
Add and remove users
Remove listings
Edit all URLs
Accept all Google updates
Opt in or out of Bookings
Update certain location settings
Edit the name, category, or website on
a location
Close a location
Create location groups

Manage AdWords account links
Use Messaging
Add custom labels to make it easy to find
particular groups of locations
Edit attributes
Edit some main business info (e.g. hours,
address, phone number)

Create, manage, and publish posts
Add, delete, and edit cover photos and additional photos
Add, delete, and edit logos
Respond to reviews
Download insights
Learn how to add owners, managers, or site managers.

Was this helpful?
YesNo